18 years old However, all 50 states and the District of Columbia have statutory laws requiring a person receiving a tattoo be at least 18 years old. This is partially based on the legal principle that a minor cannot enter into a legal contract or otherwise render informed consent for a procedure.
- 0.1 Can you get a tattoo in Amsterdam at 16?
- 1 Can a 16 year old get a hand tattoo?
- 2 Can a 17 year old get a tattoo in London?
- 3 Where can you get a tattoo at 16 Europe?
- 4 Can you get a tattoo while pregnant?
- 5 Why do people get tattoos?
- 6 Can I get a tattoo at 14 in Florida?
Can you be 14 to get a tattoo?
South Carolina –
Minors under the age of 18 may not get a tattoo without parental consent.A parent or guardian must either give written, notarized consent for a body piercing or be present during the procedure.
Can I get a tattoo at 16 in Netherlands?
Legal controls by European country –
|Country||Age (with authorisation)||Age (without authorisation)||Notes|
|Austria||16||18||Parental consent can be written.|
|Belgium||16||18||Parents must be present to give consent for children.|
|Croatia||16||18||Parents must be present to give consent for children.|
|Czech Republic||No legislation|
|Denmark||18||The Danish tattoo law was valid from 15 June 1966. It is unlawful to tattoo someone under the age of 18. In addition to this it is unlawful to tattoo someone on the head, neck and hands.|
|Finland||Unspecified age||18||Permit required for anyone under 18.|
|France||16||18||Parental consent required for anyone under 18.|
|Greece||16||18||Greek tattoo law only covers tattoos and not permanent make-up. Other key provisions, in a non-exhaustive summary:
Only tattoo persons who are at least 18 years of age. Persons under the age of 18 may only be tattooed in the presence of a guardian who has given the required written consent. Not advise on the customer’s state of physical health or offer any medical opinion. Not effect any medical procedure, be it on the recommendation, under the guidance or with the help of any form of medical specialist. Not proceed in any manner whatsoever to remove a tattoo.
|Guernsey||18||As in the UK, a person under 18 may not be tattooed except for medical reasons, per the Tattooing, Piercing, Acupuncture and Electrolysis (Guernsey and Alderney) Law, 2000, In practise the law is rarely enforced.|
|Republic of Ireland||No legislation||16 is de facto with parents present throughout Ireland, but there is no legislation. From the age of 18 without parental authorisation.|
|Isle of Man||18||As in the UK, a person under 18 may not be tattooed except for medical reasons, per the Local Government (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1984.|
|Italy||No legislation||You must be over 18 years of age to get a tattoo freely without parental consent. Those over the age of 16 must have parental consent.|
|Jersey||16||18||Unlike in the UK, the Isle of Man or Guernsey, the minimum age to obtain a tattoo in Jersey is set at 16 (with parental consent), under the Piercing and Tattooing (Jersey) Law 2002,|
|Lithuania||None||16||In Lithuania you can get a tattoo from the age of 16, or in the presence of a guardian or a parent who has given the required written consent if you are under this age.|
|Netherlands||16||In the Netherlands, the age at which persons may decide for themselves to have a tattoo and piercing is 16 years. This age limit is suspended for earlobe piercing but pertains to all other areas. Informed consent forms, with information concerning health (including allergies) must be available and must be signed by the client. In the case of young adults under 16 years, a parent or guardian must sign. If they have signed but are not present with the client, the tattooist or piercer must verify their consent by telephone. Signed consent forms must be kept by the studio in a locked file for ten years.|
|Spain||14–17||18||Age varies by region,|
|United Kingdom||None||18||In the United Kingdom, tattoos are regulated by both the Tattooing of Minors Act 1969 and the Tattooing of Minors (Northern Ireland) Order 1979, The former applying to Great Britain and the latter applying to Northern Ireland. Both acts in principle define a minor (in relation to obtaining a tattoo) as any person under the age of 18. However both acts do allow for exceptions in which any person below the minimum age may obtain a tattoo for medical reasons, when performed by a duly qualified medical practitioner or by a person working under their direction.|
Can you get a tattoo in Amsterdam at 16?
HOUSE RULES: This website is operated by Tattoo Hysteria Amsterdam and refers to it whenever the terms “we” and “our” are used.
The client must be 16 years or older to be treated at Tattoo Hysteria Amsterdam. All assignments from the Client to Tattoo Hysteria Amsterdam are provided under the Client’s responsibility and at the Client’s own risk. Tattoo Hysteria Amsterdam’s team does not tattoo kids under the age of 16. If the person who wishes to get a tattoo at tattoo Hysteria Amsterdam is between the ages of 16 and 18, the tattooing will only take place with written permission and in the presence of his parent or guardian. In that case, the parent/guardian counts as the Client. Tattoo Hysteria Amsterdam always has the right to ask the Client to show valid proof of identity, to make copies of it, and to keep it. If the Client does not show valid proof of identity, Tattoo Hysteria Amsterdam has the right to refuse the assignment. The studio is private which means having a quiet vibe is a must and we ask you kindly not to bring children or pets. Do not bring more than one person to the tattoo session with you, the space is limited. We do not accept walk-ins and all our bookings are by appointment only. Down payment is required to confirm the booking and secure a slot for you and it will be included within the final price of your tattoo. The client is allowed to postpone or cancel the confirmed appointment up to 14 days before the session date, after that the deposit will be charged by the studio. Deposits are only refundable under extreme circumstances. No show means no deposit back. The Artist has the right to cancel your tattoo session if you are under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The Artists at tattoo Hysteria Amsterdam do original custom designs only. The usage of alcohol or drugs or smoking inside the studio is strictly forbidden. In case you are going to be tattooed by a guest artist at tattoo hysteria Amsterdam, we want you to know that Tattoo Hysteria is only providing a professional and friendly environment for you and your artist to have a good tattoo experience and we are not responsible for touch-ups, agreement or disagreement between you and the artist, that’s why please make sure that is everything is crystal clear for you before the session takes a place. The Studio is not responsible for the meaning or spelling of the symbol or text that the client provided to the Artist, and it’s the client’s responsibility to double-check the spelling and the positioning or the placement of the tattoo stencil before the tattooing takes a place. The artists at Tattoo Hysteria Amsterdam are not responsible for any allergy or skin reaction that might occur from using tattoo ink or tattoo materials. The aftercare treatment is given at the end of your tattoo session.
DISCLAIMER RISKS BEFORE YOU GET ANY TATTOOS, YOU SHOULD BE AWARE OF THE GENERAL RISKS OF TATTOOING THAT MAY ENTAIL SUCH AS THE FORMATION OF SCAR TISSUE OR INFECTIONS AND OTHER DAMAGE TO THE SKIN, AND ALL OF THE OTHER POSSIBLE CONSEQUENCES OF GETTING A TATTOO, INCLUDING MEDICAL, PSYCHOLOGICAL, AND SOCIAL CONSEQUENCES AND BE AWARE THAT TATTOOS ARE A PERMANENT MARK ON YOUR SKIN THAT CAN NEVER BE ABLE TO BE REMOVED COMPLETELY.
Over scar tissue that is less than a year old. On a place where you have undergone plastic surgery or radiation in the past year. Over skin which has been tattooed in the past six weeks. On a place where less than three months ago a tattoo was lasered away. On irritated skin such as bumps, dark moles, or swellings. If you are allergic to tattoo materials or ink. If you are under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If the client is pregnant or breastfeeding
IT IS NOT RECOMMENDED TO GET A TATTOO IF ONE OF THE FOLLOWING SITUATIONS APPLIES TO YOU:
Diabetes. Problems with blood clotting (Haemophilia). Chronic skin disease. Sexually transmitted diseases (STD). Cardiovascular abnormalities, (Abnormal heart rhythms, or heart disease) Pregnancy or breastfeeding Major depression or any major mental illness. Immune system disorders.
As specified by GGD and all needles and cartridges we use are disposable and our Ink is Vegan friendly, our studio is certified by GGD and registered under the name of Tattoo Hysteria Amsterdam VOF. You can check the studio license Here
Can you get a tattoo at 16 UK?
It shall be an offence to tattoo a person under the age of eighteen except when the tattoo is performed for medical reasons by a duly qualified medical practitioner or by a person working under his direction, but it shall be a defence for a person charged to show that at the time the tattoo was performed he had
Can a 16 year old get a hand tattoo?
Legal status of tattooing in the United States
|This article uses, which are uninformative and vulnerable to, Please consider converting them to to ensure the article remains and maintains a consistent citation style. and tools are available to assist in formatting, such as (), () and (), ( June 2022 ) ( )|
In the there is no federal law regulating the practice of, However, all 50 states and the have statutory laws requiring a person receiving a tattoo be at least 18 years old. This is partially based on the legal principle that a minor cannot enter into a legal contract or otherwise render for a procedure.
- Most states permit a person under the age of 18 to receive a tattoo with permission of a parent or guardian, but some states prohibit tattooing under a certain age regardless of permission, with the exception of medical necessity (such as markings placed for ).
- In all jurisdictions, individual tattooers may also choose to place additional restrictions based on their own moral feelings, such as refusing any clients under a specific age even with parental consent, or limiting the type and/or location of where they are willing to tattoo (such as refusing any work around certain parts of the body).
They may additionally refuse to perform specific artwork, including artwork they consider offensive, or refuse to work on a client they suspect may be intoxicated. Tattooers sometimes claim their personal business restrictions are a matter of law, even when it is not true, so as to avoid arguments with clients.
|State||Minimum age (with parent/guardian consent)||Form of parent/guardian consent||Notes & exceptions||Intoxicated/Impaired individuals||Area of law/Type of penalty||Licensing & Regulation||Relevant Statute(s) and Rules|
|Alabama||none specified||informed written consent, signed in presence of the artist/service provider or their agent||Ear piercing exempt from Alabama body art laws & rules.||cannot be tattooed, branded, or pierced||Violations of Alabama Tattoo & Body Piercing laws are a class c misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $100 and/or up to 90 days imprisonment for each violation.||Alabama’s Department of Public Health licenses Tattoo, body piercing, & body art facilities, and sets standards for their operation. Individual tattoo artists, piercers, etc. require a permit.||Ala. Code § 22-1-17A State Board of Health rules on Body Art Practices and Facilities.|
|Alaska||18 (piercing excepted)||parent/guardian must both give written consent and be present during the procedure||Minors may be pierced with parental consent||no restriction||Alaska Stat. § 08.13.217|
|Arizona||none specified||parent/guardian must be physically present||Minors can have their ears pierced with the written or verbal consent of a parent/guardian, can have procedures prescribed by a health care provider.||no restriction||Violations are a class 6 felony.||There are no health regulations for tattoo shops in Arizona.||Tattoos. Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13-3721|
|Arkansas||18||Unlawful to perform on a person under eighteen years of age. Parents unable to give consent.||none specified||cannot be tattooed, branded, or pierced.||Ark. Stat. Ann. §§ 20-27-1501 et seq.|
|California||18 (piercing excepted)||parent/guardian must be present during procedure||Minors may have their ears pierced with parental consent. They may be pierced elsewhere with parental consent, but not on their genitals or nipples. Permanent cosmetics are permitted on nipples, when done by a cosmetic technician and with parental consent.||no restriction||Body Art. Cal. Health & Safety Code § 119300 to 119328 Cal. Penal Code 653|
|Colorado||18 Express written consent of parent or guardian||parent/guardian must be present during procedure||Persons who are “noticeably impaired” cannot have body art procedures||Body Artists. Colo. Rev. Stat. § 25-4-2101 to 2103|
|Connecticut||none specified||permission of parent or guardian||Minors may have their ears pierced without parental consent Tattooing may only be performed by physicians, or by registered nurses & technicians working under the supervision of a physician.||no restrictions||Conn. Gen. Stat. §19a-92a, Conn. Gen. Stat. §19a-92g|
|District of Columbia||18 (ear piercing excepted)||written consent (for ear piercing)||minors may have their ears pierced with written parental consent||no restrictions||Body Artists. DC Code § 47-2853.76d|
|Delaware||18||notarized written consent to the specific procedure||none specified||cannot be tattooed, branded, or body pierced||Del. Code Ann. Title 11, Ch 5 §1114(a) Del. Code Ann. Title 16, Ch 2 §122(3)(w)|
|Florida||16||Must be accompanied by parent or guardian who can show proof of guardianship, both parent and minor must present photo ID, and a consent form must be notarized.||for medical or dental purposes by a licensed physician or dentist||no restriction||Fla. Stat. § 381.00787 Fla. Stat. §381.0775 et seq. Fla. Stat. §381.075|
|Georgia||18 (body piercing excepted)||For body piercing: prior written consent of parent/guardian||Minors may have their ears pierced without parental consent
||no restrictions||Ga. Code § 31-40-1 to 31-40-10 Ga. Code § 16-12-5 Ga. Code § 16-5-71.1|
|Hawaii||none specified||written consent of parent/guardian||Hawaii Rev. Stat. § 321-13 Hawaii Rev. Stat. § 321-379|
|Idaho||14||Written informed consent of parent/guardian, executed in the presence of the person performing the procedure, or their agent/employee.||Minors can have their ears pierced without parental consent. Piercing for medical procedures exempt.||no restrictions||Idaho Code § 18-1523 (2004)|
|Illinois||18 (body piercings excepted)||Written consent of parent/guardian (for body piercings)||Minors cannot be present in places where tattooing or body piercing is done except in the presence of a parent/guardian. Minors can have their ears pierced without parent/guardian consent.||no restrictions||Ill. Stat.720 §5/12-10.1 Ill. Stat.410 §54/1 t0 54/999|
|Indiana||none specified||Parent/guardian must both be present during the procedure and provide written permission.||Minors may have their ears pierced without parental consent.||no restrictions||Ind. Code Ann. §35-42-2-7 Ind. Code Ann. §16-19-3-4.1|
|Iowa||18||n/a – minors cannot be tattooed||Body piercing is not regulated by state law in Iowa, however county or city laws may regulate it.||no restrictions||Iowa Code §135.37 Iowa Code §135.37|
|Kansas||16||Parent/guardian must give written consent, written consent must be notarized, and the parent/guardian must be present during the procedure.||Minors may have their ears pierced||no restrictions||Kan. Stat. Ann. §65-1953 Kan. Stat. Ann. §65-1940 to 65-1954|
|Kentucky||none specified||Parent/guardian must give written, notarized consent.||none (ear piercing also requires written, notarized consent).||Ky. Rev. Stat. §211.760 Ky. Rev. Stat. §194A.050; 211.760 902 KAR 45.065|
|Louisiana||16||Parent or guardian must consent, and their presence during the procedure is required for tattoos, but not for body piercings.||no restrictions||La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §14:93.2 La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 40:2831 et seq.|
|Maine||18 (piercings excepted)||For body piercings: prior legal consent of parent/guardian.||Maine law does not require parent/guardian consent for ear piercing||no restrictions||Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Title 32 § 4201-4329|
|Maryland||none specified||written consent, which must be retained for 3 years.||Piercing of the ear lobe is exempt||no restriction||Health Department Regulations||A license is not required, but any person performing tattooing or piercing must comply with all the relevant health code regulations||COMAR 10.06.01.02 and 10.06.01.06|
|Massachusetts||18 (except body piercing other than genitalia)||For piercing of areas other than the genitalia, a parent may provide identification and sign the consent document.||Physicians performing for treatment reasons and ear piercing are exempt from regulation.||no restriction||County Health Department regulates body art, but all follow a model regulation set by the state.||Artists must have a permit, and establishments are subject to following specific health department regulations||Model Regulations for Body Art Establishments|
|Michigan||none specified||Written, informed consent of parent/guardian. Must be executed (signed) in the presences of the person performing the procedure, or their employee.||cannot be tattooed, branded, or body pierced.||Mich. Comp. Laws § 333.13101 to 333.13112|
|Minnesota||18 (piercings excepted)||For piercings: presence of parent/guardian and a consent form are both required.||Minors cannot be tattooed. They can be body pierced, but not in the nipples or genitals. Branding, scarification, suspension, subdermal implantation, microdermal, and tongue bifurcation are also prohibited for minors.||cannot have any body art procedures.||Minnesota Statutes 146B.07|
|Mississippi||18||n/a – minors cannot be tattooed||piercing also prohibited except for the outer perimeter or lobe of the ear.||no restriction||Miss.Code Ann. §73-61|
|Missouri||none specified||For both piercings and tattoos, parent/guardian must sign written consent in the presence of the person performing the procedure, or their employee.||cannot be tattooed, branded or body pierced.||violations are a misdemeanor, punishable with a fine of up to $500 (more for repeat offenses)||The state director of the division of professional registration licenses all body artists, and sets rules & regulations for the operation of body art establishments.||Mo. Rev. Stat. §324.520|
|Montana||none specified||Parent or guardian must give “explicit, in-person” consent. Montana administrative rules also require that the parent/guardian be present throughout the procedure.||cannot be tattooed or body pierced.||A person who tattoos or body pierces a minor without parent/guardian consent is guilty of Unlawful transactions with children, punishable by a fine of up to $500 or six months in county jail, or both. Other violations of Montana body art laws are a misdemeanor, with punishments ranging from a fine of $50–100 for a first offense to $300 and/or 90 days in county jail for third and subsequent offense.||Montana’s Department of Health and Safety licenses and regulates body art establishments. Local health boards may establish their own licensing and regulatory schemes in lieu of the state department’s.||Mont. Code Ann. §45-5-623 Mont. Code Ann. §50-48-101 to 110 Mont. Code Ann. §50-48-201 to 209|
|Nebraska||none specified||written consent, must be present during procedure||Piercing does not include the external parts of the ear||No restrictions||Nebraska Revised Statute 38-1008, 38-1009, 38-1010, 38-1011, 38-1060, 38-10,165|
|Nevada||n/a||n/a||Nevada state law does not regulate tattoos, piercings, or other body art. Regional health districts may regulate the practice. The southern Nevada Health District, for example, does not allow minors below the age of 14 to be tattooed, and requires a parent or guardian to provide written consent and be present during the procedure for 14- to 18-year-olds. The southern Nevada district also bans tattoos on those who are under the influence of drugs or alcohol.||n/a||n/a|
|New Hampshire||18 (piercings excepted)||For piercings: parent/guardian must both sign written consent and be present during the procedure.||Minors cannot be tattooed or branded. They may be pierced with parent/guardian consent. Minors may have their ears pierced without parent/guardian consent.||no restrictions||N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 314|
|New Jersey||16||Parent/guardian must be present and sign written consent for ear piercings as well as for body piercing. Minors cannot have genital piercings even with parent/guardian consent.||no restrictions||no restrictions||no restrictions||N.J. Stat. Ann. §2C:40-21 N.J.A.C.8:27-1 et seq.N.J. Stat. Ann. §26-1A-7|
|New Mexico||none specified||Written consent and presence during the procedure.||Medical procedures by physicians and ear piercing are exempt||no restrictions||Administrative Regulations set by the Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists||All body artists are required to be licensed through the state, and are subject to regulations from the Board||Body Art Safe Practices Act.N.M. Stat. Ann. § 61-17B et seq., N.M. Administrative Code 16.36 et seq.|
|New York||18 (piercings excepted)||Minors cannot be tattooed with parent/guardian consent. For piercings: parent/guardian must give written consent, signed in presence of the body artist or body art establishment owner.||Written parental consent is not required for ear piercings.||no restrictions||New York Public Health Law, Article 4-A N.Y. Public Health Law §460-466 N.Y. Penal Law § 260.21|
|North Carolina||18 (piercings excepted)||Minors cannot be tattooed, even with parent/guardian consent. “Prior consent” of parent/guardian is required for body piercings.||Minors may have their ears pierced without parental consent.||no restrictions||N.C. Gen. Stat. § 130A-283 N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-400|
|North Dakota||none specified||Parent/guardian must be present during the procedure and give written consent.||cannot get tattoos or other body art||N.D. Code §23-01-35 N.D. Code §12.1-31-13|
|Ohio||none specified||Parent/guardian must both sign a consent form and “appear in person at the business at the time the procedure is performed.”||none – parent/guardian consent and presence is also required for ear piercings.||no restrictions||Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §3730.01 to 3730.99|
|Oklahoma||18 (piercings excepted)||Minors cannot be tattooed, even with parent/guardian consent. For piercings: parent/guardian must both give written consent and be present during the procedure.||Ear piercing is not governed/restricted by Oklahoma law. Scleral tattooing is illegal.||cannot be tattooed.||Okla. Stat. Title 21 §842.1, 842.2, 842.3|
|Oregon||18 (piercings excepted)||For piercings: parent/guardian must give written consent and present proof of identity.||Minors can only be tattooed with the authorization of a physician.
||cannot be tattooed or pierced.||Violations of Oregon body art laws are a misdemeanor. Violations of Health Licensing Office rules are fined (various amounts).||Both body artists and body art establishments are licensed by the Oregon Health Licensing Office. With the assistance of a Board of Body Art practitioners, the Health Licensing Office also sets detailed rules and regulations for body art.||Or. Rev. Stat. § 690.350 et seq Or. Rev. Stat. § 690.401 to 410 Or. Rev. Stat. § 679.500 Health Licensing Office Rules, especially Divisions 900, 905, 915 & 920|
|Pennsylvania||none specified||parent/guardian must both give consent and be present during the procedure.||no restrictions||Pa. Cons. Stat. Title 18 § 6311|
|Rhode Island||18 (piercings excepted)||Minors cannot be tattooed. For piercings: parent/guardian must both give consent and be present for the procedure.||no restrictions||Tattooing a minor is a criminal offense (misdemeanor), maximum fine $300||Tattooing and body art are regulated by the department of health, artists must be registered.||RI Gen L § 23-1-39 RI Gen L § 11-9-15|
|South Carolina||18 (piercings excepted)||Minors cannot be tattooed. For piercings: parent/guardian must either give written, notarized consent or be present during the procedure.||Head, face, and neck tattoos are illegal.||cannot be tattooed or body pierced||Under the Health Code, persons violating restrictions on tattooing and body piercing are guilty of a misdemeanor. Upon conviction, they may be fined up to $2500 or imprisoned for a year, or both.||Tattoo and body piercing facilities are regulated by the Department of Health and Environmental Control. Tattoo facilities are licensed, body piercing facilities require a permit, and artists must be registered||S.C. Code § 44-32-10 to 44-32-120 S.C. Code § 44-34-10 to 44-34-110|
|South Dakota||none specified||Parent/guardian must sign a consent form.||cannot be tattooed or pierced||Tattooing a minor is a class 2 misdemeanor.||Tattooing and Body Piercing are governed by Department of Health rules. Municipalities may set stricter regulations, and have the authority to license body artists.||S.D. Codified Laws Ann. §26-10-19 S.D. Laws § 9-34-17|
|Tennessee||18 (piercings excepted)||For tattoos that cover an existing tattoo (see Notes & Exceptions): Parent/Guardian must be present during the procedure. For piercings: Parent/Guardian must give written consent, be present during the procedure.||Minors over the age of sixteen may be tattooed to cover up an existing tattoo, with parent/guardian consent.||Minors who lie about their age to be tattooed are guilty of a “delinquent act,” are required to pay a fine of $50–$250 and serve at least 20 hours of community service. Tattooing a minor is a class a misdemeanor, breach of body piercing law is a class b misdemeanor.||Tattoo artists and body piercers are licensed by the state department of health, tattoo shops require a certificate from the local health department.||Tenn. Code §§ 62-38-201-310|
|Texas||18 (piercings excepted)||For body piercings and for covering existing tattoos (see Notes & Exceptions): Parent/guardian must be present during procedure, sign an affidavit||Ear piercing is exempt from body piercing statutes Minors may, with parent/guardian consent, be tattooed to cover up an existing tattoo that has offensive, gang-related, or drug-related content, or “other words, symbols, or markings that the person’s parent or guardian considers would be in the best interest of the person to cover” Tongue splitting prohibited.||Cannot be tattooed or pierced.||Misrepresenting one’s age to get a tattoo, or to get a piercing without parental consent, is a class B misdemeanor Violations of Texas tattooing & body piercing statute are a Class A misdemeanor, with each day of violation counting as a separate offense. Health Commissioner can impose a fine of up to $5000 on artists & shops for each violation||Tattoo artists and body piercers must be registered with the Texas Department of Health Tattoo and body piercing shops must be licensed||Texas Health and Safety Code Ann. §146|
|Utah||none specified||Parent/guardian must be present during the procedure, give written permission, and provide proof of identity.||Parental consent not required by law for ear piercing||Tattooing or body piercing a minor is a class b misdemeanor, shops can be fined up to $1000 for each violation.||Utah Code Ann. §76-10-2201|
|Vermont||none specified||Parent/guardian must provide written consent, signed in front of tattooist.||Parental consent not required by law for any form of piercing. Also excluded is ear lobe piercing with an piercing gun, ear lobe piercing of oneself, ear lobe piercing by a minor’s parent/guardian, or ear lobe piercing by an adult’s household member.||Cannot practice tattooing or body piercing.||Tattooists and body piercers must be licensed.||Vt. Stat. Ann. Title 26 §4101 to 4109 Vermont Administrative Rule 20-4-18.|
|Virginia||none specified||Parent/Guardian must be present during the procedure.||Virginia law does not limit minors’ ability to have their ears pierced.||Tattooing or body piercing a minor is a class 1 misdemeanor||Tattoo artists and body piercers, as well as the operators of tattoo and body piercing establishments, are licensed by the state. Civic/local governments are empowered to regulate tattoo and body piercing establishments.||Va. Code §54.1-700 et seq. Va. Code §15.2-912 Va. Code § 18.2-371.3.|
|Washington||18 (piercings excepted)||cannot have tattoos, body piercings, or other body art.||Wash. Code §26.28.085 Wash. Code § 18.300 Wash. Code § 246-145-001 to 060 Wash. Code §70.54|
|West Virginia||none specified||parent/guardian must give written consent||All persons receiving a tattoo must attest they are not under the influence of drugs or alcohol.||Tattoo shop owners and body piercing studios must register with local board of health, and must be registered as a business with the state||W. Va. Code §16-37 W. Va. Code §16-38|
|Wisconsin||18||n/a (tattooing not permitted under 18)||Physicians in the course of professional practice are exempt||no restriction||Tattooing a minor or even offering to do so is subject to a fine of up to $200||Artists must be satisfy training requirements and obtain a license from the health department. Establishments are subject to inspection and licensing||Wisconsin Statutes & Annotations 948.70 and 252.235|
|Wyoming||none specified||Verbal consent, presence during procedure.||Procedures performed under the supervision of a licensed physician, and piercing of the ear, do not count as body art for this law.||no restriction||Misdemeanor criminal offense, punishable by fine and prison time||Wyoming Statute §14-3-107|
Can I get a tattoo when I’m 13?
Minors getting ink: Can an under-18 teenager get a tattoo in Texas with parental consent? – I’m 16. I want to get a tattoo when I turn 16 and I’m certain I can get it as long as one of my parents consents. Is that right? – E.T. No. Texas has specific laws that address at what age someone can get a tattoo.
Section 146.012 of the Texas Health and Safety Code starts by outlining the general rule – a tattooist may not tattoo “a person younger than 18 years of age.” The same code section then sets out one exception to this rule for kids under the age of 18. The tattoo artist may tattoo a person younger than 18 years of age if the tattoo is intended to cover an already existing offensive tattoo and the child’s parent provides consent to cover the tattoo.
Tattoos that Texas law specifically allows a minor to cover with another tattoo (with parental consent) include (1) a tattoo that contains obscene or offensive language or symbols; (2) gang-related names, symbols, or markings; (3) drug-related names, symbols, or pictures; or (4) or any word, symbol, or markings that the child’s parent thinks would be in the best interest of the person to cover.
- So, what does all that mean? Basically, if the child has no tattoos, then the child must wait until they turn 18 to get a tattoo, even if a parent gives consent to the tattoo before the child turns 18.
- However, let’s say a 16-year old kid gets an unauthorized tattoo of his girlfriend’s name (as just one of the many examples of a tattoo that reasonable minds likely think isn’t a good idea for a 16-year old), the kid can likely get that tattoo covered over with parental consent.
A person younger than 18 years of age commits an offense (Class B misdemeanor) if the person falsely states he or she is older than 18 in order to get a tattoo. Please submit column suggestions, questions, and comments to [email protected],
- Submission of potential topics does not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information submitted is subject to being included in future columns.
- Marrs, Ellis & Hodge LLP, www.mehlaw.com,
- The material in this column is for informational purposes only.
- It does not constitute, nor is it a substitute for, legal advice.
For advice on your specific facts and circumstances, consult a licensed attorney. You may wish to contact the Lawyer Referral Service of Central Texas, a non-profit public service of the Austin Bar Association, at 512-472-8303 or www.austinlrs.com, A note to readers: Bold and uncensored, The Austin Chronicle has been Austin’s independent news source for over 40 years, expressing the community’s political and environmental concerns and supporting its active cultural scene.
Are Colour tattoos legal?
Coloured ink for tattoos to be banned in EU from 4 January; all you need to know Use of coloured ink for tattooing to be prohibited in EU from 4 January. Wikimedia Commons/Ari Helminen Coloured tattoo inks are set to be banned in the European Union from 4 January, 2022. Around 4,000 chemical substances used in the production of permanent make-up and coloured inks, will be outlawed from 4 January, according to The Independent.
- The rules also include “maximum concentration limits established either for groups of substances or for individual substances such as certain azodyes and carcinogenic aromatic amines, polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs), metals and methanol”, according to the bloc.
- The move comes into force as the EU seeks to protect its citizens from potentially harmful chemicals.
Any product that contains the newly controlled substances in greater concentrations than prescribed, will be banned from sale by the EU’s Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals (REACH) legislation. The new rules were approved a year ago, with the EU giving a 12-month transition period to tattoo artists and the make-up industry to alter its recipes.
- Two shades, Pigment Green 7 and Pigment Blue 15:3 were given a 24-month grace period since they were difficult to obtain.
- The bloc said that the new rules will help protect customers from a range of health problems from skin irritations to cancer.
- Some of the substances were already banned in products to be applied on top of the skin, according to The Metro,
The EU stated that the aim of the new rules is to make the colouring inks used in tattoos “safer”. Scientists have not yet come to a consensus about direct links between cancer and tattoo ink. However, according to news reports, tattoo artists claim that suppliers have been slow to make any progress on alternative substances, making it difficult for customers to get coloured tattoos.
- Some have had to turn away customers since they are unable to predict when they will get good replacements for coloured inks.
- According to The Independent, many tattoo artists are complaining that the new rules will dampen business.
- A petition has also been launched to “save” Pigment Green 7 and Pigment Blue 15:3.
The petition has over 1,75,000 signatures till date. Tattoo artists are also worried that the new rules will lead to a “lasting negative impact on the economic competitiveness of European tattooists and pigmenters vis-à-vis providers outside the EU”, and could seriously jeopardise the profession.
Can a 15 year old get a tattoo in Bali?
6. How old do you need to be to get a tattoo in Bali? – The minimum age an individual can get a tattoo in Bali is 15 years old. However, a lot of professional tattoo parlors will only tattoo people 18 years and older with a valid ID.
Can you get a tattoo at 15 in Germany?
Can you get a tattoo at 12? – Ban or allow tattoo? – Basically, when tattooing, just like when piercing, you are legally committing bodily harm according to Section 223 of the Criminal Code. There is no rigid age limit under German law as to when I can get a tattoo.
However, in most tattoo parlors under the age of 18 you need the consent of your parents or legal guardian in order to be allowed to have a skin image stung by the tattoo artist. Serious professional tattooists know this and explain it to interested young people in consultations. Young people under the age of 14 are generally not tattooed by them and even in the case of 14 to 16 year olds the tattoo needle is only applied in the presence of their parents.
With the submission of the declaration of consent of the legal guardians, the liability of the tattoo artist §223 StGB is excluded. If the parents do not consent, the consent of the minor concerned may be sufficient. Since the law does not prescribe when a minor can effectively consent, it depends on the personal level of maturity and the insight and judgment of the young person.
- From the level of their development, they must be able to precisely grasp the significance and scope of the physical injury and to be able to assess it correctly.
- In doing so, he/she must have been sufficiently informed about the dangers and risks, for example the possibility of ignition, and be very aware of the (long-term) consequences of his/her decision.
If all of these conditions are met, it is sufficient for the young person to give their consent alone. (Quoted: Federal Ministry of Justice page 40 “My upbringing, I have a say”,pdf)
Can I get a tattoo at 16 in Turkey?
The legal age to have tattoos inscribed on your body in Turkey is 18 years and above.
Can you go clubbing at 16 in Amsterdam?
Clubs have a minimum age of 18.
Can a 17 year old get a tattoo in London?
Age of consent in the UK – The UK prohibits anyone under the age of 18 to have a tattoo, and any artist found to do so will be prosecuted and fined, so, it’s imperative you always ask for proof of age and to include a copy in a consent form. Interestingly, the legal age for a tattoo does differ in other parts of Europe.
- For example, there is no age restriction in Bulgaria, Czech Republic or Hungary, and in Spain, customers as young as 14 can get inked.
- France’s age requirement is 16, while Austria, Denmark and Germany are among the few who join the UK of the minimum age being 18.
- The UK is actually one of the only E.U.
countries not to allow tattooing of teenagers under 18 whatsoever, even with parental consent. In fact, within the UK, you are required to have a license for a broad range of permanent surgical procedures, including tattooing, semi-permanent skin colouring, cosmetic piercing, electrolysis and acupuncture.
Where can you get a tattoo at 16 Europe?
Tattoo Legal Age in Europe – European countries, too, have varying legislation when it comes to deciding the legal age of getting a tattoo. You will often find countries where there is no legislation at all. This is one of the reasons why European countries have set a minimum age for getting a tattoo.
- Countries like Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, France, Germany, Ireland, Lithuania, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, and Slovakia, allow people to get a tattoo when they are 16 years of age.
- The legal age for getting a tattoo in countries like Denmark, Finland, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Romania, and the United Kingdom is 18.
Other countries like Sweden, Slovenia, Hungary, Finland, and Belgium don’t have any specific restrictions involving tattoos and body piercing. However, Spain has allowed its citizens to get a tattoo with an age restriction varying by region. The minimum age in some regions is 14, while in others, it is 17.
Greece has established strict tattoo laws. Although the minimum age of getting tattooed is 18, persons under the minimum age can get a tattoo in the presence of parents or a guardian. However, the person is required to get written consent.
In Denmark, it is illegal to tattoo someone on the head, neck, and hands. Ireland and Hungary still have no tattoo legislation.
The Netherlands might have a legal age for getting tattooed. But, the age limit doesn’t pertain to earlobe piercings. If the person getting a tattoo is under the legal age, the tattoo artist must telephone the person’s parents and get consent. Moreover, the tattoo artist must get a signed consent form and lock it in the studio for ten years!
There are no age restrictions in Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, and Hungary. Party hard!
The United Kingdom is the only country in Europe to not force parental consent to get a tattoo, even for teenagers!
Can a 12 year old get a tattoo UK?
Tattooing of Minors Act 1969 – It is against the law to tattoo a person who is under the age of 18. No-one can provide any sort of consent. If a tattoo artist carries out a tattoo on a person who is under 18, the tattoo artist could face a fine of up to £1000 and could be at risk of losing their registration.
Can you get a tattoo while pregnant?
The main concern with getting a tattoo during pregnancy is the risk of contracting an infection, such as Hepatitis B and HIV. Although the risk is small, it is recommended that you wait to get a tattoo until after your baby is born.
Is it OK to let my 16 year old daughter get a tattoo?
Talking about tattoos with your teen – Learn their reasons for wanting one: Ask your teens plenty of questions. How long have they been thinking about a tattoo, and what does it mean to them? Is the image they’re considering something particularly meaningful — or just trendy or seemingly impulsive? Why does it need to happen now? It’s important that the reasons are not short-lived (e.g., it’s a hot trend today), because that makes it less likely that they’ll still like it many years later.
Discuss potential health risks: Roughly half of parents in the Mott poll said they were very concerned about negative health effects such as infection, scarring and transmission of diseases — such as hepatitis or HIV — via unsanitary needles. MORE FROM MICHIGAN: Subscribe to our weekly newsletter While these negative health effects are not common, they are real risks, especially if tattoos are done in an amateur fashion and not in an established, reputable shop.
Licensing for tattoo artists runs the gamut and varies by state. Talk about the impact on professional prospects: Half of surveyed parents were very concerned that employers might judge or stereotype a teen with a tattoo; 24 percent were very concerned that a tattoo would reflect badly on the parents.
- Employers’ acceptance of tattoos has gone up over the past couple of decades.
- Fewer businesses now ban employee tattoos, but some still prohibit visible tattoos in the workplace.
- Still, there’s always a chance that a tattoo could turn off a potential employer.
- The understandable teenage response is often “that’s not fair.” That may be the case, but we know this happens and it’s something they should be prepared for.
Propose alternative forms of expression: Two-thirds of parents (63 percent) in the Mott poll agreed that tattoos are a form of self-expression similar to dyeing hair or clothing choice. There are few, if any, reasons for a parent to try to control a child’s hairstyle or wardrobe.
- But those decisions aren’t permanent.
- Unsurprisingly, the most common concern (among 68 percent of parents polled) was that as their children age and mature, they may regret getting a permanent tattoo.
- This is a valid issue.
- Tattoos are very difficult to get rid of.
- Teens should not go into this thinking it’s something they can later reverse — because doing so is painful, expensive and time-consuming.
Ask them if they’re sure this is a tattoo they will want on their body for the rest of their life. Don’t bow to pressure: A common theme when we talk to parents about adolescent choices is not to encourage anything you don’t want to see your teen doing.
So if you don’t want your child to get a tattoo, don’t pay for it and don’t sign paperwork giving minors permission to get one, even if they beg or threaten to find a way to get one without your knowledge. SEE ALSO: Make Sure Your Teen Has Had These 4 Lifesaving Vaccines Thirty-two percent of parents in the Mott poll had a tattoo themselves.
Even if you’re one of those parents, you’re under no obligation to agree. Bottom line: It’s not going to ruin a teenager’s life to wait until he or she is 18 to get a tattoo. Have respectful dialogue: Even when you disagree or say no, a loving approach is important.
Openly discuss the pros and cons of tattoos and calmly ask your teens questions they may not have considered: How do they feel this would enhance their life? What potential consequences might it lead to? Would other, less permanent forms of expression suffice for now? Keeping the communication lines open and loving will increase the likelihood that your teen will turn to you when something bigger comes along.
If you do agree to the tattoo: While an overwhelming majority of parents — 78 percent — said they would “absolutely not consider” letting their teens get a tattoo, 1 in 10 thought a tattoo would be OK as a reward, to mark a special occasion or if the tattoo could be hidden.
- If you’re among parents who would say yes to a tattoo, thoroughly research the tattoo parlor to ensure that it has been in business for a long time and that it employs a skilled artist in an established location.
- Interview artists about antiseptic processes and the equipment they use.
- Eep in mind that health risks go up dramatically if tattoos are done in a home.
Ideally, you would also get a referral from someone satisfied with the work that artist has done.
Should I let my 16 year old daughter get a tattoo?
Pros and cons of getting a tattoo as a teen – There are both positives and negatives to consider about getting tattoos as a teen, and these should not only be part of your discussion, but can also help inspire further research. Pros:
It provides a form of expression and can potentially help boost your sense of identity and confidence.Tattoos can help you to pay tribute to a loved one or to remember someone who has passed away.Tattoos are becoming much more mainstream, so discreet ones may not impact your chances of employment in the future.
The pain. It is definitely worth thinking about the fact that this is going to hurt, particularly on certain areas of the body,You might change your mind in the future, and this is much more likely if you are a teenager because teen brains typically aren’t wired to think long-term, While you have the option of laser tattoo removal, this can also hurt, not be 100 percent effective, and be prohibitively expensive.The cost. For some families, spending money on a tattoo may not be a financially responsible decision right now. Health risks, Tattoos can lead to allergic reactions, infections, scarring, and additional complications, especially if you have sensitive skin or certain health conditions.Teens’ bodies may not be done growing, so tattoos done at a young age could stretch out or look different in the future.
Do tattoos hurt?
How Bad Does a Tattoo Hurt? – You’ve probably encountered people who think it makes them seem badass to emphasize that pain is part of the tattoo process. Plainly and simply, they’re stupid. Why would anyone choose to be in pain when they have options to reduce their discomfort? You don’t tell the dentist to skip the numbing shot before they take your wisdom tooth out.
You don’t ask your surgeon to keep you awake when they’re taking out your appendix. If you had a headache, would you just wait it out, or would you take some over-the-counter painkillers and lay down for a nap? Why is this even a question? Tattoos naturally hurt, but the pain doesn’t benefit the process in any way.
There are numbing products you can use, as well as design, size, and placement decisions to minimize the pain you feel during a tattoo. If you’d prefer not to be in pain, you’re a rational human being. Do what you have to do to feel good about getting a tattoo.
Are tattoos safe?
Could other problems occur later? – Although research is ongoing at the FDA and elsewhere, there are still a lot of questions about the long-term effects that may be caused by the pigments, other ingredients, and possible contaminants in tattoo inks.
The FDA has received reports of bad reactions to tattoo inks right after tattooing and even years later. You also might become allergic to other products, such as hair dyes, if your tattoo contains p-phenylenediamene (PPD). Then there’s tattoo removal. We don’t know the short- or long-term consequences of how pigments break down after laser treatment.
However, we do know some tattoo removal procedures may leave permanent scarring and may fail to remove the tattoo completely.
Why do people get tattoos?
Your browser does not support the audio element, so here’s a link to the mp3: https://continuingstudies.uvic.ca/upload/elc/studyzone/490-stories-cam/Why-People-Get-Tattoos.mp3 Jack lay, quiet and unmoving, for thirty minutes while a stranger repeatedly stabbed him with sharp needles, causing blood to pour steadily out of his leg. Jack was getting a tattoo. His friend Tony had recently gotten a tattoo, and Jack was so impressed by Tony’s bravery and his tattoo that he decided to get one too.
- Getting a tattoo because your friends and peers have them is just one of the reasons why a lot of young people in North America get tattoos.
- Peer pressure, media influence, and personal expression are some of the common reasons for wearing tattoos today.
- The desire to be part of a group, to be accepted by one’s friends or peers, can have a great influence on what a person does.
Sometimes, wearing a tattoo can be a sign that you belong to a certain group. Gangs often use special clothes and tattoos to identify their particular group. For example, in one gang all the members may wear green army jackets and have large ‘Xs’ tattooed on their arms.
- It is not only gangs that have this type of special ‘uniform’.
- Young people often belong to a certain group of friends.
- Some of these groups wear only brand-name clothes.
- Some wear only black clothes.
- Others wear tattoos.
- When a person’s friends are all doing something, such as getting a tattoo, that person is more likely to do the same thing, and get a tattoo too.
The media is another big influence behind the popularity of tattoos in North America. A wide variety of media images show tattoos. Tattoos can be seen on people appearing in commercials selling expensive cars. Famous sports heroes with tattoos are shown in magazines.
- Fashion models are often seen in magazines and on TV wearing designer clothes that show their bodies tattooed with detailed and colourful patterns.
- These media images link tattoos to ideas of wealth, success, and status.
- As a result, many people decide to get a tattoo for its fashion and status value.
It is not always the influence of other people or the media that results in a person getting a tattoo. Many people decide to wear tattoos in order to express their artistic nature, their beliefs, or their feelings – in other words, to show their individuality.
A musician in a rock band may get a tattoo of a guitar on the arm. Some environmentalists may tattoo pictures of endangered animals on their shoulders. Lovers may tattoo each others’ names over their hearts. A tattoo can be a public sign to show what is important in a person’s life. As you can see, there are many reasons why young North Americans get tattoos.
A tattoo can be part of a group’s uniform. It can be a sign of fashion. It can be an expression of individuality. The decision to get a tattoo is most often a result of the influence of friends or media or the desire to express oneself. For Jack, it was a mixture of all three.
Why should you get a tattoo?
Increases Self Esteem – Tattoos are symbolic for some. Whether it symbolizes an event from their past, an experience or emotion, or a motivational message, it makes them feel hope, inspiration and motivation. Others like tattooing their body because it boots their body confidence, and they are less critical of themselves.
Can a 14 year old get a tattoo in Texas?
Tattooing – We require any business in the practice of producing an indelible mark or figure on the human body by scarring or inserting pigments under the skin using needles, scalpels or other related equipment to license with the Department of State Health Services,
This includes studios that perform traditional tattooing, permanent cosmetics and scarification. An artist may not tattoo a person younger than 18 without meeting the requirements of 25 Texas Administrative Code, §229.406(c), whose parent or guardian determines it to be in the best interest of the minor child to cover an existing tattoo.
Tattoos are applied using a small electric device that operates similar to a sewing machine. One to fourteen needles are grouped together and attached to the end of a rod called a needle bar. The other end of the needle bar is attached to the tattoo machine.
- The needle bar moves up and down through a tube or barrel, which serves two purposes — to keep the needle bar from moving side to side and as a handle for the tattooist to grip.
- The needles stick out only a few millimeters from the end of the tube, so they don’t go deep into the skin.
- After preparing the skin with a germicidal soap, the artist dips the needles into a small amount of pigment or ink.
As the machine is guided over the skin, the needle bar moves up and down allowing the needles to puncture the skin, depositing the ink. A tattoo machine can puncture the skin 50-3,000 times per minute. Once the tattoo is completed, the tattooist usually applies an antibiotic cream or ointment and covers the area with a sterile bandage.
Can a 14 year old get a tattoo in Canada?
How old do I have to be to get tattooed in Toronto? – You must be 18 years of age with a valid, government-issued photo ID to get a tattoo. Some exceptions may be made for customers as young as 16 years of age with signed parental consent.
Can a 14 year old get a tattoo with parental consent in California?
I’m 17, can I get a tattoo if my parent signs for me? — Tattoo Alchemy I’m 17, can I get a tattoo if my parent signs for me? No. The California state law prohibits any person under the age of 18 years old from being tattooed under any circumstance. According to California Penal Code 653, every person who tattoos or offers to tattoo a person under the age of 18 years is guilty of a misdemeanor.
- As used in this section, to “tattoo” means to insert pigment under the surface of the skin of a human being, by pricking with a needle or otherwise, so as to produce an indelible mark or figure visible through the skin.
- This section is not intended to apply to any act of a licensed practitioner of the healing arts performed in the course of his practice.
: I’m 17, can I get a tattoo if my parent signs for me? — Tattoo Alchemy
Can I get a tattoo at 14 in Florida?
The State of Florida has mandated under Chapter 64E-28, Florida Administrative Code, that no one under the age of 16 years old may get tattooed. Anyone that is 16 or 17 years of age must receive consent as documented and notarized on the state-mandated form linked below.
If you are 16 or 17 years old and wish to get a tattoo, this is what you will need: There are NO EXCEPTIONS to these requirements. These are actual laws in place to protect minors and Studio 54 Tattoo & Piercings will not break them for anyone. If you are under the age of 18, you are lawfully disqualified from receiving tattoos of any kind around the area of genitals and as well as anywhere that our staff may deem distasteful.
If you have any questions about this matter, please contact us,